Bad Bunny and Rauw Alejandro top 2022 Latin Grammy nominees

The Latin Recording Academy has announced its nominations for the 23rd Latin Grammy Awards, with top nominees from around the world, from Puerto Rico to Texas to Spain.

Superstar MC Bad Bunny, whose album “Un Verano Sin Ti” wrapped up its 11th week at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart, leads the pack with 10 nominations, including album of the year, as well as record the year for “Ojitos Lindos” with Bomba Estéreo. Bad Bunny is also nominated for Urban Song, Urban Music Album and Reggaetón Performance, among other genre categories. Although the singer, rapper and, more recently , Puerto Rican actor has already won four Latin Grammys, he has yet to win a Latin Grammy in the “general field” categories of album, song or record of the year.

Texas-born songwriter-producer Edgar Barrera picked up nine nominations, including for record (“Pegao”) and song (“Índigo”) of the year, both collaborations with Colombian pop star Camilo. Barrera won Producer of the Year in 2021.

Puerto Rican hitmaker Rauw Alejandro is up for eight awards this year, including record of the year for “Te Felicito,” his reggaetón-pop ballad with Shakira. Alejandro’s “Agua,” which features Daddy Yankee and legendary Chic bassist Nile Rodgers, will also compete for Song of the Year, marking Rodgers’ first Latin Grammy nomination.

Ecuadorian American pop idol Christina Aguilera returns as a nominee for the first time since 2001, when her Spanish-language album “Mi Reflejo” won female pop vocal album honors. She is nominated for seven awards this year, including album of the year for “Aguilera”, as well as record of the year for her female anthem “Pa Mis Muchachas”, with Becky G, Nicki Nicole and Nathy Peluso.

Rosalía has received seven Latin Grammy nominations, including Album, Record and Song of the Year.

(SeoJu Park / For the Time)

Globetrotting Spanish pop star Rosalía is also nominated for seven Latin Grammys this year: her acclaimed “Motomami” is up for album of the year, and she also received nods for the record of the year (“La Fama”, his bachata smash with the Weeknd) and song of the year, for “Hentai”. Leading hip-hop and pop producers Pharrell Williams, Chad Hugo and Noah Goldstein earned their first Latin Grammy nominations this year for their work on “Motomami.”

Camilo, who won four of the 10 Latin Grammys he was nominated for in 2021, picked up seven nominations this year, including two nods each for song and record of the year.

Spanish rapper C. Tangana, who won three awards last year, is nominated for three more this year, including Record of the Year and Song of the Year with Uruguayan singer-songwriter Jorge Drexler, for their track “Tocarte”. Drexler, a seven-time Latin Grammy winner, is nominated in eight categories this year, including album of the year and singer-songwriter album of the year for “Tinta y Tiempo.”

Five-time Latin Grammy winner Ricky Martin will be vying for Song of the Year for his collaboration with Mexican pop group Reik, “A Veces Bien ya Veces Mal.”

Contenders for Best New Artist include 94-year-old Cuban bolero singer Angela Álvarez – the oldest musician to ever be nominated in this category – as well as Mexican singer-songwriter Silvada Estrada and the Yakima, Washington, act brother Yahritza y Su Essence.

The Latin Grammy Awards will take place on November 17 at the Michelob Ultra Arena at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

Here are the nominations in the general field categories:

album of the year

“Aguilera” – Christina Aguilera

“Pa’lla Voy” – Marc Anthony

“Un Verano Sin Ti” – Bad Bunny

“Already” – Bomba Estereo

“Tinta y Tiempo” – Jorge Drexler

“Ya No Somos los Mismos” – Elsa and Elmar

“Viajante” — Fonseca

“Motomami” (digital album) – Rosalía

“Sanz” – Alejandro Sanz

“Dharma” – Sebastian Yatra

Disc of the year

“Pa Mis Muchachas” – Christina Aguilera, Becky G, Nicki Nicole featuring Nathy Peluso

“Castillos de Arena” – Pablo Alboran

“Envolve” – ​​Anitta

“Pa’lla Voy” – Marc Anthony

“Ojitos Lindos” – Bad Bunny and Bomba Estereo

“Pegao” – Camilo

“Tocarte” – Jorge Drexler and C. Tangana

“Provenza” – Karol G.

“Vale la Pena” – Juan Luis Guerra

“La Fama” – Rosalía with the Weeknd

“Te Felicito” – Shakira and Rauw Alejandro

“Baloncito Viejo” – Carlos Vives and Camilo

song of the year

“A Veces Bien ya Veces Mal”—– Pedro Capo, Ignacio Cibrián, Ricky Martín, Pablo Preciado, Julio Ramírez, Mauricio Rengifo and Andrés Torres, songwriters (Ricky Martin with Reik)

“Agua” – Rauw Alejandro, Emmanuel Anene, David Alberto Macias, Nile Rodgers, Juan Salinas, Oscar Salinas and Daddy Yankee, songwriters (Daddy Yankee, Rauw Alejandro and Nile Rodgers)

“Algo Es Mejor” – Mon Laferte, songwriter (Mon Laferte)

“Baloncito Viejo” — Camilo, Jorge Luis Chacín, Andrés Leal, Martín Velilla and Carlos Vives, songwriters (Carlos Vives and Camilo)

“Besos en la Frente” – Fonseca and Julio Reyes Copello, songwriters (Fonseca)

“Encontrarme” – Carla Morrison, Juan Alejandro Jiménez Pérez and Mario Demian Jiménez Pérez, songwriters (Carla Morrison)

“Hentai” – Larry Gold, Noah Goldstein, Chad Hugo, David Rodríguez, Rosalía, Jacob Sherman, Michael Uzowuru, Pilar Vila Tobella, Dylan Wiggins and Pharrell Williams, songwriters (Rosalía)

“Índigo” — Edgar Barrera and Camilo, songwriters (Camilo and Evaluna Montaner)

“Pa Mis Muchachas” – Christina Aguilera, Jorge Luis Chacín, Kat Dahlia, Becky G, Yoel Henríquez, Yasmil Marrufo, Nicki Nicole and Nathy Peluso, songwriters (Christina Aguilera, Nicki Nicole, Becky G with Nathy Peluso)

“Provenza” – Kevyn Mauricio Cruz Moreno, Carolina Giraldo Navarro and Ovy On The Drums, songwriters (Karol G)

“Tacones Rojos” – Juan Jo, Manuel Lara, Manuel Lorente, Pablo and Sebastián Yatra, songwriters (Sebastián Yatra)

“Tocarte” — Jorge Drexler, Pablo Drexler, Víctor Martínez and C. Tangana, songwriters (Jorge Drexler and C. Tangana)

Best New Artist

Angela Alvarez

Sofia Campos

Cande and Paulo


Silvana Estrada

Pol Granch




Yahritza and Su Esencia

Nicole Zignago

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: